J Bootman

Research Interests

Dr. J Lyle Bootman, Ph.D., Sc.D. has served as Dean of The University of Arizona College of Pharmacy since 1987. He is professor of pharmacy, medicine and public health, and a Fellow of several professional associations including the American Pharmacists Association, American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and the American College of Apothecaries. He is the Founding and Executive Director of the University of Arizona Center for Health Outcomes and PharmacoEconomic (HOPE) Research, one of the first such centers developed in the world. He is also a founding director of the Healthcare Transformation Institute (HTI), first such company launched to truly advancing our country’s health care system by developing new delivery models in improving patient health care value, patient outcomes, and services. He is Former President of the American Pharmacists Association, President Emeritus of the Pharmacy & Therapeutics Society and Past President of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. During 2011 and 2012, he led the Arizona Health Sciences Center for a year as UA’s Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, providing direction and vision to four health professions colleges during an executive leadership transition period at the university.

He received his pharmacy education at The University of Arizona and his doctorate at The University of Minnesota where he was given the “Outstanding Achievement Award,” the University’s highest Alumni honor. He completed a clinical pharmacy residency at the world-renowned National Institutes of Health, received an honorary doctorate from the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia, the first such institution founded in the United States in 1821, and an honorary doctorate from The Ohio State University.

Dr. Bootman has authored more than 285 research articles, books and monographs, and has been an invited speaker at more than 600 professional healthcare meetings and symposia. He was selected as one of the 50 most influential pharmacists in the U.S. by American Druggist, and has received numerous outstanding scientific achievement awards, most notably from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and the Academy of Pharmaceutical Science and Research for his research which pioneered the field of pharmacoeconomics and health outcomes. He has published several books including the first textbook introducing the Principles of Pharmacoeconomics, which is utilized in more than 40 countries and translated in seven languages. His research regarding the outcomes of drug-related morbidity and mortality receives worldwide attention by the professional and the public media.

Additionally, he is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies, where he served on the Board of Health Care Services for seven years, and was Co-Chair of the IOM Committee which released the highly publicized report, “Preventing Medication Errors.” He serves as an advisor to leading pharmaceutical companies, universities and health care organizations throughout the world. Currently, he serves on several prestigious boards including HTI, The Critical Path Institute, Research Corporation Technologies, CMR Institute and Madeira Therapeutics. Dr. Bootman has received numerous honors and awards. He was the recipient of the George Archambault Award, the highest honor given by the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists; the Latiolais Honor Medal, the highest honor in managed health care by the Pharmaceutical Care Management Association; the Hugo H. Schaefer Award which recognizes outstanding lifetime contributions to the organization, the profession and to society, given by the American Pharmacists Association.

In 2008 he was recognized with the Joseph P. Remington Honor Medal, the highest honor given by the profession of pharmacy to recognize distinguished service and lifetime contributions.